THE TRUE STORY OF VILLA RAGAZZI

Who are we?

This year we're celebrating 20 years together and 15 years of Villa Ragazzi! It's an opportunity to tell you our story, to explain what we wanted to create with Villa Ragazzi and, for those of you who have never visited us before, to give you a glimpse of who we are.

This year we've decided to tell you our story: who we are, how we met and why we decided to create what was to become an essential venue for the gay community: Villa Ragazzi.

It all started a little over 20 years ago, when I was Webmaster for a large insurance mutual, which explains why I, Cédric, am writing these few lines today.

Cédric

By then I'd already been in Lyon for a few years. When I moved into my first flat, I knew straight away that I wasn't cut out to live on my own - I had to have people in the house! So I started telling everyone I made friends with that my door was open if one day they needed a bed. After a few months the situation got out of hand and I found myself with new people every night, which wasn't a problem, but when it was made clear to me that my sexuality could be problematic for some people, I kicked everyone out. Welcoming yes, but intransigent with tolerance. A few years later I met the man who was to change my life forever...

uchaud gite gay about
chambres hotes gay stephane montpellier

Stéphane

At the time, Stéphane was a leading figure in Lyon's gay scene. I regularly bumped into him in his bar, but his status as boss made him totally invisible to me. Until the evening of 15 November 2003, when he finally managed to attract my attention by using some well thought-out stratagems. We never left each other's side... Shortly after we met, he missed his first passion, cooking, too much and Stéphane decided to leave Lyon to take over a restaurant in the neighbouring countryside. Of course I followed him, he taught me to carry more than 2 plates at a time (quite a feat lol) and I helped him with the service in the evenings and at weekends. We stayed there for 3 years. Then one evening Stéphane told me about the crazy project he had in mind: to create a gay guest house in the south of France! He was waiting, he told me, "to meet the right person to do it as a couple" (yes, me!). The idea of finally having a place where I could welcome people, with Stéphane's experience to establish a framework, completely excited me.

Villa Ragazzi

So I went for it. We visited 24 houses before finding the one that met all our criteria: the possibility of having independent access so that our guests could be totally autonomous, the possibility of having 5 bedrooms, a swimming pool... It had to be located between Nîmes and Montpellier, for ease of access and proximity to our friends at the time.
We bought the house in 2007, and I didn't want it. I liked the structure, but the amount of work that would have to be done to get what we wanted scared me. Once again Stéphane was right, he saw the villa's full potential on the day of the visit.
I started working remotely, combining work during the day with webmastering at night. 2 years of hard work later, we opened with 3 bedrooms, closing for the winter season to go back to work and open 1 then 2 more bedrooms.

gay guest rooms montpellier nimes 34
gay bed and breakfast with swimming pool montpellier

15 years later

15 years later, we're proud to still be here, with more and more visitors from all over the world. Proud to have been able to create the space for tolerance and diversity that I have always dreamed of, with a level of service that is on a par with that of a hotel/restaurant.

We welcome all gays, and if you hear otherwise it's a lie. We're a friendly place, where prejudices are put aside and magic happens every time. All the guests at the table d'hôtes we organise every evening and the loyal customers we've welcomed since the first year can testify to that. We wanted it to be 'gay only', so that everyone can be themselves without fear of the gaze of their deckchair neighbours.

They can also tell you that no, the villa is not a place of debauchery where everything is allowed in full view of everyone. Of course people do meet, and we're delighted to have helped with weddings, but always with respect for the other residents.

Come and discover Villa Ragazzi

But in the end, isn't the best way to get to know Villa Ragazzi is to come and see for yourself? We're waiting for you, we love you and we hope to be with you for many years to come.
 
 
outside gay hosts swimming pool 34
OUR OTHER SERVICES

In our Villa Ragazzi gay bed and breakfast

Jardin Uchaux Villa Ragazzi Chambre d'hote gard47

The Garden

LEARN MORE
piscine uchaux chambres hote gay4

The swimming pool

LEARN MORE
Sauna villa ragazzi chambre dhote uchaux 1

Sauna and Jacuzzi

LEARN MORE
58775858 43307555

A la carte services

LEARN MORE
gal 624107

Birthdays and small gestures

LEARN MORE
1755576 2382486

Station and airport transfers

LEARN MORE
2480439 3485473

Massages

LEARN MORE
2480186 18247549

Day pass

LEARN MORE
2480000 3484593

Catering

LEARN MORE
en_GBEnglish (UK)

LA VERITABLE HISTOIRE DE LA VILLA RAGAZZI

Qui sommes-nous ?

Cette année nous fêtons nos 20 ans de vie commune et nos 15 ans de Villa Ragazzi ! L’occasion de vous raconter notre histoire, de vous expliquer ce que nous avons voulu créer avec la villa Ragazzi et pour ceux qui ne sont jamais venus nous voir, de vous donner un aperçu de qui nous sommes.

Cette année nous avons décidé de vous conter notre histoire, qui sommes-nous, comment nous nous sommes rencontrés, pourquoi avons-nous eu envie de créer ce qui allait devenir un lieu incontournable de la communauté gay : la Villa Ragazzi.

Tout a commencé il y à un peu plus de 20 ans, j’étais à l’époque Webmaster pour une grosse mutuelle d’assurances, ce qui explique pourquoi c’est moi, Cédric, qui écrit ces quelques lignes aujourd’hui.

Cédric

A cette époque j’étais arrivé à Lyon depuis quelques années déjà. Lorsque j’ai pris mon 1er appartement j’ai tout de suite su que je n’étais pas fait pour vivre seul, il me fallait avoir du monde à la maison ! J’ai commencé à annoncer à tous les gens avec qui je sympathisais que ma porte était ouverte si un jour ils avaient besoin d’un lit. Au bout de quelques mois la situation m’a dépassée et je me suis retrouvé avec tous les soirs de nouvelles personnes, ce qui n’était pas un problème, mais lorsqu’on m’a fait comprendre que ma sexualité pouvait être problématique pour certains, j’ai mis tout le monde dehors. Accueillant oui mais intransigeant avec la tolérance. Quelques années plus tard j’ai rencontré celui qui allait changer ma vie pour toujours…

piscine privee masculune gay
chambres hotes gay stephane montpellier

Stéphane

Stéphane était à l’époque une figure du milieu gay lyonnais, il avait un bar dans lequel je le croisais régulièrement mais son statut de patron le rendait totalement invisible à mes yeux. Jusqu’à ce soir du 15 novembre 2003 ou il a finalement réussi à attirer mon attention en utilisant des stratagèmes bien étudiés. On ne s’est jamais quittés… Peu de temps après notre rencontre, sa première passion, la cuisine, lui manquait trop et Stéphane a décidé de quitter Lyon pour reprendre un restaurant dans la campagne avoisinante. Bien sûr je l’ai suivi, il m’a appris à porter plus de 2 assiettes à la fois (un exploit lol) et je l’ai aidé au service le soir et les week-ends. Nous y sommes restés 3 ans.. Et puis un soir Stéphane m’a énoncé le projet fou qu’il avait en tête : créer une maison d’hôtes gay dans le sud de la France ! Il attendait m’a-t-il dit « de rencontrer la bonne personne pour le faire à 2 » (et oui Moi !). L’idée de finalement avoir un lieu dans lequel je pourrais accueillir du monde, avec l’expérience de Stéphane pour établir un cadre, m’a complètement emballée.

La Villa Ragazzi

Alors j’ai foncé. Nous avons visité 24 maisons avant de trouver celle qui réunissait tous nos critères : la possibilité d’avoir des accès indépendants pour que nos hôtes puissent être totalement autonomes, la possibilité d’avoir 5 chambres, une piscine… Elle devait se trouver entre Nîmes et Montpellier, pour des questions de facilité d’accès et la proximité de nos amis de l’époque.
Nous avons acheté la maison en 2007, cette maison je ne la voulais pas, la structure me plaisait mais l’ampleur des travaux à réaliser pour avoir ce qu’on voulait m’a fait peur. Encore une fois Stéphane avait raison, il a vu le jour de la visite, tout le potentiel de la villa.
Je me suis mis à travailler à distance, cumulant travaux la journée et webmastering la nuit. 2 ans de labeur plus tard nous avons ouvert avec 3 chambres, fermant la saison d’hiver pour repartir dans des travaux et ouvrir 1 puis 2 chambres supplémentaires.

chambres hotes gay montpellier nimes 34
chambres hotes gay avec piscine montpellier

15 ans plus tard

15 ans plus tard nous sommes fiers d’être toujours là avec toujours plus de visiteurs du monde entier. Fiers d’avoir pu créer l’espace de tolérance et de diversité dont je rêvais depuis toujours avec un niveau de service à la hauteur d’un hôtel / restaurant.

Chez nous tous les gays sont les bienvenus, et si vous entendez le contraire c’est un mensonge. Chez nous la convivialité est de mise, les préjugés sont mis de côté et la magie opère à chaque fois. Tous les convives des tables d’hôtes que nous organisons tous les soirs et les fidèles clients que nous accueillons depuis la première année peuvent en témoigner. Nous l’avons voulu « gay only » pour que chacun puisse être lui-même sans avoir peur du regard de ses voisins de transats.

Ils peuvent aussi vous dire que non, la villa n’est pas un lieu de débauche dans lequel tout est permis à la vue de tous. Bien sûr que des rencontres se font, nous sommes d’ailleurs ravis d’avoir contribué à des mariages, mais toujours dans le respect des autres résidents.

Venez déouvrir la villa Ragazzi

Mais finalement est ce que le meilleur moyen de connaître la Villa Ragazzi ça n’est pas de venir voir par vous-même ? On vous attend, on vous aime et on espère être avec vous encore de nombreuses années.
 
 
exterieur gay hotes piscine 34
NOS AUTRES SERVICES

Nos autres services à la Villa Ragazzi

piscine uchaux chambres hote gay4

La Piscine

EN SAVOIR PLUS
Sauna villa ragazzi chambre dhote uchaux 1

Sauna et Jacuzzi

EN SAVOIR PLUS
58775858 43307555

Services à la carte

EN SAVOIR PLUS
gal 624107

Anniversaire et petites attentions

EN SAVOIR PLUS
1755576 2382486

Transfert gares et aéroports

EN SAVOIR PLUS
2480186 18247549

Pass à la journée

EN SAVOIR PLUS
2480000 3484593

Restauration

EN SAVOIR PLUS
fr_FRFrançais